DIY Follow-Up

Here is my apartment decor DIY! Simple, inexpensive, and super cute! I am not really a The Lord of the Rings fan, however, this is a great quote from a poem in the novel by J.R.R. Tolkien;

“All that is gold does not glitter,

Not all those who wander are lost;

The old that is strong does not wither,

Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,

A light from the shadows shall spring;

Renewed shall be blade that was broken

The crownless again shall be king.”

I absolutely loved this excerpt, and specifically loved the quote, “not all who wander are lost”, so I made it in to apartment art! There are a ton of different renditions of this floating about on the internet, but here is mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started by painting the entire canvas with acrylic paint colors that I loved. I wanted it to be bright, whimsical, yetย predominantly pink. So I painted away, layering color after color. Then after the paint was dry, I stuck these vinyl stickersย directly onto the painting, spelling out my favorite quote. You can do song lyrics, a movie quote, a personal saying, or anything that speaks to you.

Step One: Colorย background & vinyl letters.. Complete.

Image

Immediately after this, I covered this entire canvas with white paint.. vinyl letters and all. Again, you can choose what ever coloring your heart desires, but for the elegant, office look that I am trying to achieve, I found white to be an appropriate color! As the paint was still wet, I then generously blanketed the painting with a coat of loose glitter. I then set it out to dry for about 30 minutes.

Stage Two: White paint & Glitter bomb… Complete.

Image

After it was done drying & the glitter had time to set, I peeled off the stickers, revealing the hidden color underneath and voilร ! Super cute, personalized home decor! Naturally, I signed mine at the bottom and it proudly hangs in my apartment.

Stage Three: Peel stickers & proudly display… Complete.

ImageImage

Hope you all enjoy your weekend! It’s time to start getting dolled up for my night now.

#TGIFyallTGIF

โ™ฅ

2 thoughts on “DIY Follow-Up

  1. I just want to mention I am just beginner to weblog and seriously liked your web blog. Almost certainly Iโ€™m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have terrific articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your website.

Leave a Reply

